NZ bat first in Eden Park repeat


Toss New Zealand chose to bat v Australia
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Kane Williamson chose to try and set Australia a target they couldn’t chase after winning the toss in the tri-series final at Eden Park. Five days on from Australia’s record pursuit of 244 on this ground, New Zealand were batting first again.

David Warner was content with bowling first for the fifth time in a row, and has already signalled Australia will look to come up with a few plans to defend the short boundaries. They were unchanged from their previous match, while New Zealand kept the same XI that beat England in Hamilton.

The presence of Mitchell Santner, who missed the first Auckland encounter with a knee problem, likely came into Williamson’s thinking. Slow bowlers were the nearest thing to economical in a match where 488 runs were scored and, with the same surface being used, batting might not be quite so unfettered.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Mark Chapman, 6 Colin de Grandhomme, 7 Tim Seifert (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Australia 1 David Warner (capt), 2 D’Arcy Short, 3 Chris Lynn, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Aaron Finch, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Andrew Tye, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Billy Stanlake

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *