Morgan out, Chapman debuts; England bowl first


Mark Chapman prepares to bowl © Getty Images

England won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Eoin Morgan was again missing for England due to his groin strain but Kane Williamson was fit to lead New Zealand as the triangular series reached Wellington. Both teams are still waiting for their first points of the tournament, having found Australia too strong, and England will be chasing down a target after Jos Buttler decided to bowl.

New Zealand brought in the uncapped Tim Seifert as wicketkeeper and the former Hong Kong international Mark Chapman to try and bring some punch to the middle order. Williamson, whose position has been the subject of much debate, will remain at No. 3.

England have recalled Liam Plunkett, recovered from his hamstring injury picked up in the one-day series against Australia, and packed their side with pace by also including Mark Wood. Liam Dawson and Tom Curran sit out.

There has been much talk about the drop-in surface which has an odd two-tone appearance. The pitch for the previous match on this ground, the T20 against Pakistan, was poor and made scoring hard work. Neither captain knew what a good score would be at the toss.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Mark Chapman, 5 Ross Taylor, 6 Colin De Grandhomme, 7 Tim Seifert (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 James Vince, 5 Jos Buttler (capt/wk), 6 Sam Billings, 7 David Willey, 8 Adil Rashid, 9 Liam Plunkett, 10 Chris Jordan, 11 Mark Wood

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *